2016 Summit on the Future of Europe


Monday, November 14, 2016, 9:00am to 6:00pm


27 Kirkland Street Cambridge, MA 02138, Lower Level Conference Room, Busch Hall

The Summit on the Future of Europe is an initiative of the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies (CES). Launched in 2014, this annual conference aims to convene eminent scholars and public leaders at Harvard in order to debate critical challenges facing Europe.

Since 2008, the term crisis and Europe have become inseparable. As the crisis has deepened and persisted and its dimensions multiplied, the future of a united Europe and its core values have been called into question. Yet, there is wide divergence of views among experts and politicians on the causes, symptoms, implications and policies needed to resolve it. Is it necessary for Europe and the European Union to discard old models and principles in order to find a way out of crisis? Or should traditional European approaches simply be refined and applied more consistently in order to find solutions? The 2016 Summit will focus on Europe and the Forces of Disunion. Participants will examine the adverse political, economic and social trends that have both fueled the crisis and/or resulted from it. They will ponder the options open to Europe in confronting its multiple challenges and reflect on Europe’s future.


Panel topics include:

  • Is European Democracy in Crisis?
  • Is the Eurozone Crisis Over?
  • Europe's Security and Foreign Policy Challenges
  • From Enlargement to Brexit: The Future of the European Union


Relevant Speakers:

  • Pippa Norris – ARC Laureate Fellow and Professor of Government and International Relations, University of Sydney; McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics, Harvard Kennedy School; Faculty Associate, CES, Harvard University
  • Joseph H.H. Weiler – President, European University Institute (EUI), Italy; Senior Fellow, CES
  • Daniel Ziblatt – Professor of Government, Harvard University; Resident Faculty, CES, Harvard University; Faculty Associate, Weatherhead Center for International Affairs; Faculty Associate, Institute of Quantitative Social Science
  • Jeffry Frieden – Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Peter A. Hall – Krupp Foundation Professor of European Studies, Harvard University; Resident Faculty, CES
  • Graham Allison – Douglas Dillon Professor of Government; Director, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
  • Mary Elise Sarotte – Dean's Professor of History and Professor of International Relations, University of Southern California; Senior Fellow, Transatlantic Academy, German Marshall Fund; Faculty Associate, CES, Harvard University
  • George Alogoskoufis – Karamanlis Chair of Hellenic and European Studies, The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University; Minister of Economy and Finance of Greece (2004-2009)
  • Sir Paul Tucker – Chair, The Systemic Risk Council; Former Deputy Governor, The Bank of England (2009-2013); Senior Fellow, CES, Harvard University



Contact: Roumiana Theunissen (rtheunissen@fas.harvard.edu)

For further information click here